Marketing Reads

I’ve just finished reading Six Pixels of Separation: Everyone is Connected. Connect Your Business to Everyone by Mitch Joel, the president of Twist Image. I confess that I’m a bit of a marketing book fanatic, and reading this book is part of my thirst for good reads. I’ve borrowed the book from a colleague, Marylou Wakefield who is currently reading my copy of Meatball Sundae by Seth Godin. Do that, share books with your colleagues, and you’re building social connections in the real world. With that said, Joel’s book provides a definitive and comprehensive look at why strategy is necessary for brands looking to leverage the power of social media to build community. While it’s a couple of years old now, and much has changed with the lightning fast pace of social media and technology transformation, it offers a powerful milestone, profiling in great detail the landscape for bloggers, agencies and content creators at the end of the first decade of this century.

It goes without saying that old marketing ideas and equations have been entirely disrupted by online business models, platforms and technologies. Six Pixels gets into the meat of tactics. It also dollies back enough again and again, to touch on perhaps one of the greatest take aways of the book: without a strategy to tie everything you do on social media together – to find your niche and your authentic brand differential – tactics are useless. In other words, social media is quite like traditional media. Stay. On. Message. The same goes for content marketing. Find a message and stick with it. Messages can have nuance, but when you’re being strategic about curating content – text, video, audio – it must rotate around the polar coordinates of your brand.

Parsimony is something I value in marketing books. Six Pixels offers many neatly curated lists. I love books that offer lists aplenty, so I’ll most likely buy a copy of this book myself.  Now onto the real impetus for this post. I just had to write this to get to this point: I have to read Purple Cow by Seth Godin. It seems all roads point to the book. A week does not go by where someone does not mention the purple cow metaphor. For that reason, I’m going to do my best to put down the several books I’m now into, and get a copy of this seminal marketing book. I’ll return with comments then. That’s all for now. Happy surfing friends.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks Avi. This is a great reminder about the importance of strategy. A symptom of our instant gratification culture is employing sm tactics to get “hits” or “friends” are cause a “buzz” which seemingly are valued more than the quality of the conversation or the engagement in relationship.

    1. Avi Lambert says:

      Marylou, sorry for the delay of my reply. I agree with your comment. There must be something deeper than engaging on the surface. Good storytelling, and social media messaging I’m sure you know, requires attention to detail, and must remain consistent. Authenticity may arise from this type of focus and resilience. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

